Skip to main content

Seventh Annual SQuInT Workshop

Seventh Annual SQuInT Workshop

Start Date: Feb 18, 2005 - 07:30am
End Date: Feb 20, 2005 - 12:15pm

Host: University of New Mexico Center for Advanced Studies and University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center

Location: Westward Look Resort, Tucson, Arizona

Invited Speakers (Outside SQuInT)

  • Klaus Moelmer, Aarhuus Denmark
  • Rob Schoelkopf, Yale University
  • Andrew Steane, Oxford University, UK

Invited Tutorials

  • Rob Spekkens, Perimeter Institute, Canada, "Foundations of Quantum Mechanics and Information Processing" .
  • Ike Chuang, MIT, "Quantum Control from an NMR perspective".

Program

Friday Feb. 18

7:30-8:25 Breakfast (provided)

Session 1: Ion Traps (Chair: Liebfried)
8:25-8:30 Welcome
8:30-9:00 Chiaverini, "Simple algorithms implemented in a scalable trapped-ion quantum processor"
9:00-9:30 Berkeland, "Quantum simulations with trapped strontium ions"
9:30-10:00 Morning Break (provided)

Tutorial: (Chair: Geremia)
10:00-11:00 Chuang, "Lessons from NMR for quantum computation"

Session 2: Quantum Information Theory I (Chair: Caves)
11:00-11:30 Bacon,"Optimal measurements for the dihedral hidden subgroup problem"
11:30-12:00 Gurvits, "Convex geometry of quantum entanglement"
12:00-2:00 Lunch (provided)

Invited Talk: (Chair: Wineland)
2:00-2:45 Steane, "How to build a 300 bit, 1 Gop quantum computer"

Session 3: Quantum Measurement and Signal Processing (Chair: Ghose)
2:45-3:15 Smith/Chaudhury, "Probing the Spin Degrees of Freedom of Cold Atom Ensembles"
3:15-3:45 Afternoon break (provided)
3:45-4:15 Silberfarb, "Quantum state reconstruction via continuous measurement"
4:15-4:45 Geremia, "Optimal discrimination of optical coherent ctates using feedback control"
4:45-5:15 Hawley, "Nondemolition measurement of single spin state for quantum computation based on optically detected magnetic resonance"

6:00-7:30 Poster session

7:30- Dinner (on your own)

Saturday Feb. 19

7:30-8:30 Breakfast (provided)

Session 4: Quantum Communications 1 (Chair: Nordholt)
8:30-9:00 Hughes, "Quantum key distribution in optical fiber networks"
9:00 -9:30 Raymer, "Engineered pure-state single-photon wave-packets"
9:30-10:00 Morning Break (provided)

Tutorial:
10:00-11:00 Spekkens, "Quantum information meets quantum foundations"

Session 5: Quantum Information Theory II (Chair Bacon)
11:00-11:30 Szkopek, "Threshold error penalty for fault tolerant computation with nearest neighbour communication"
11:30-12:00 Flammia, "Entanglement and the Power of One Qubit"
12:00-2:00 Lunch (provided)

Invited Talk: (Chair: Goodkind)
2:00-2:45 Schoelkopf , "Circuit Quantum Electrodynamics: Doing Quantum Optics on a Chip"

Session 6: Solid State and Electronics (Chair: Raymer)
2:45-3:15 Gibbs, "Vacuum Rabi splitting with a single quantum dot in a photonic crystal nanocavity"
3:15-3:45 Goodkind, " Progress fabricating qubits using electrons on helium"
3:45-4:15 Afternoon break (provided)
4:15-4:45 Waks, "Cavity-waveguide interaction in photonic crystals"
4:45-5:15 Guney, "Implementation of entanglement and quantum logic gate operations using three-dimensional photonic crystal single-mode cavity"
5:15-5:45 Yao, "Design of solid-state nanodot-cavity-waveguide system for quantum computation and quantum information processing"

7:00- Banquet

Sunday Feb. 20

7:30-8:30 Breakfast (provided)

Session 7: Cold atoms (Chair: Boshier)
8:30-9:00 Lev, "Magnetic microtraps for cavity QED, BECs, and atom optics"
9:00-9:30 Chou, "Storage time of a quantum memory in an ensemble of cold atoms"

Invited: (Chair: Deutsch)
9:30-10:15 Molmer, "Quantum information with continuous variables"
10:15-10:45 Morning Break (provided)

Session 8: Quantum Communications II (Chair: Hughes)
10:45-11:15 Sanders, "Remote entanglement distribution"
11:15-11:45 Wodkiewicz, "Fidelity of noisy quantum channels"
11:45-12:15 Spedalieri, "Exploiting the quantum Zeno effect to beat photon loss in linear optical quantum information processors"

Posters

  1. Paul M. Alsing, The Unruh Effect in an Ion Trap: An Analogy
  2. Howard Barnum, Beyond quantum key distribution---a survey of some quantum cryptographic tasks and protocols
  3. Brad Blakestad, Designs for Multiplexed Ion-Trap Arrays
  4. Andreea Boca, Observation of the Vacuum Rabi Spectrum for One Trapped Atom
  5. Carlton M. Caves, Neumark interferometers
  6. Souma Chaudhury, Measuring the 133 Cs Clock Transition Pseudo-Spin in Real-Time
  7. Mark W. Coffey, Quantum and semiclassical position and momentum entropies of model single particle systems
  8. Steven T. Flammia, Informationally Complete POVMs
  9. Shohini Ghose, Preparation and assessment of non-Gaussian states of light as a resource for universal continuous variable quantum computation
  10. Gilad Gour, Concurrence Monotones and Remote Entanglement Distributions
  11. Wenhai Ji, Quantum Entanglement between Atomic Ensembles
  12. Kishore T Kapale, Universal quantum gates for metastable atomic qubits with cavity assisted interactions
  13. Chris Langer, Coherence studies using field-independent atomic qubits
  14. Dietrich Leibfried, Small quantum algorithms realized in a scalable ion trap array
  15. Trey Porto, A Double Well Lattice Design for Controlled Two-Atom Interactions
  16. Worawarong Rakreungdet, Robust Control and Real-Time Measurement of Neutral Atom Qubits
  17. Danna Rosenberg, High-efficiency photon-counters for quantum information applications
  18. Greg Smith, Density Matrix Reconstruction via Continuous, Weak Measurement in an Ensemble of Laser-Cooled Cs Atoms
  19. Federico Maximiliano Spedalieri, Quantum key distribution without reference frame alignment using photon orbital angular momentum
  20. John Stockton, Continuous Measurement and Control of Collective Atomic Spin States for Magnetic Field Metrology
  21. Nathan Wiebe, The Quantum Mechanics of Hyperion

Participants

SQuInT 2005 Participant List

NameEmailAffiliation
Girish Agarwalagirish@okstate.eduOklahoma State University
Paul Alsingalsing@hpc.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Markus Ansmannsquint@mcansi.netUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Bacondabacon@santafe.eduSanta Fe Institute
Howard Barnumbarnum@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Dana Berkelanddjb@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Brad Blakestadblakesta@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Andreea Bocaandreea@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Allen David Boozerboozer@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Malcolm Boshierboshier@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Sergio Boixoboixo@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Joe Brittonbritton@nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Geoffrey Browngeoffb@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Carlton Cavescaves@info.phys.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Souma Chaudhurysouma@optics.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
John Chiaverinijohn.chiaverini@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Chin-Wen Chouchin-wen@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Isaac Chuangichuang@mit.eduMassachusetts Institute of Technology
Mark Coffeymcoffey@spot.colorado.eduColorado School of Mines
Animesh Dattaanimesh@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Aaron Denneydenney@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Ivan Deutschideutsch@info.phys.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Bryan Eastinbeastin@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Steven Flammiathedude@info.phys.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
JM Geremiajgeremia@Caltech.EDUCalifornia Institute of Technology
Shohini Ghosesghose@qis.ucalgary.caUniversity of Calgary
Hyatt Gibbshyattgibbs@att.netUniversity of Arizona
John Goodkindjgoodkind@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Gilad Gourggour@math.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Durdu Guneydguney@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Leonid Gurvitsgurvits@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Marilyn Hawleyhawley@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
David Hayesdh123@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Richard Hugheshughes@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
David Humedavid.hume@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Poul Jessenpoul.jessen@optics.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Wenhai Jiwji@uoregon.eduOregon Center for Optics
John Jostjohnjost@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Kishore KapaleKishor.T.Kapale@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory
Chris Langerclanger@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Benjamin Levbenlev@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Dietrich Leibfrieddil@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Hideo Mabuchihmabuchi@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Kiran Mannemanne@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Nicolas Menicuccinmen@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Seth Merkelsmerkel@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Anthony Milleraemiller@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Brian Mischuckbmischuck@optics.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Klaus Moelmermoelmer@phys.au.dkUniversity of Aarhus, Denmark
Jane E. NordholtJNordholt@LANL.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Trey Portotrey@nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Worawarong Rakreungdetrakre@physics.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Iris Rappertirappert@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Michael Raymerraymer@uoregon.eduUniversity of Oregon
Rainer Reichlereichle@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Patrick Ricerekniht@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Danna Rosenbergrdanna@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Barry Sandersbsanders@qis.ucalgary.caUniversity of Calgary
Robert Schoelkopfrobert.schoelkopf@yale.eduYale University
Kevin Schulzschulz@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Signe Seidelinseidelin@phys.au.dkNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Andrew Silberfarbdrews@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Michael Simonmichael.j.simon@lmco.comLockheed Martin Space Systems Company
Greg Smithgasmith@u.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Frederico SpedalieriFederico.Spedalieri@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory
Robert Spekkensrspekkens@perimeterinstitute.caPerimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
Andrew Steanea.steane1@physics.ox.ac.ukOxford University
John Stocktonjks@caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Thomas Szkopekszkopek@ee.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Collin M. Trailctrail@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Edo Waksedo@stanford.eduStanford University
Nathan Wiebenathanwiebe_2000@yahoo.comSimon Fraser University
David Winelanddjw@boulder.nist.govNational Institute of Standards and Technology
Krzysztof Wodkiewiczwodkiew@phys.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Wang Yaowangyao@physics.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego

Sponsors

OSCAROQuantum InstituteNIST